Zurück zu den Suchergebnissen

Fallstudien zu professionellen Produkten

Mehr Möglichkeiten durch 3D-Druck

Professionelle Hersteller benötigen die Flexibilität, herausragende Produkte in kleiner, mittlerer oder großer Stückzahl zu fertigen. Digitale Fertigungslösungen geben oftmals den Ausschlag für die Annahme von Aufträgen, bei denen des darum geht, einen Nischenmarkt kostendeckend zu bedienen.

Artem ist einer der angesehensten Modell- und Miniaturenexperten der Branche und fertigt professionelle Werbemodelle für legendäre Marken wie z. B. Ford, Kellogg's und Coca-Cola. Das Unternehmen Artem gibt es seit zwei Jahrzehnten und dessen Arbeiten waren bereits in Dutzenden von großen Kinofilmen wie z. B. „X-Men: Erste Entscheidung“, „Troja“ und „Tomb Raider II: Die Wiege des Lebens“ zu sehen.

Das passende Werkzeug

Als das in London ansässige Unternehmen Nexus Productions mit der CAA Marketing Group und deren Kunden Chipotle Mexican Grill einen Vertrag über die Produktion eines animierten Werbespots abschloss, der das Eintreten des Restaurants für nachhaltige Landwirtschaft hervorheben sollte, wendete sich die Produktionsfirma selbstverständlich an Artem. Der Chipotle-Werbespot „Back to the Start“ sollte die Geschichte eines Farmers erzählen, der sich für qualitativ hochwertige Produkte engagiert. Diese Stop-Motion-Animation erforderte individuell gefertigte Modelle.

Regisseur Johnny Kelly kannte die 3D-Arbeiten von Artem durch ein für BBC One gefertigtes Mondfahrzeug. „Wir erzählten ihm, dass wir für das Mondautomodell einen Dimension 3D-Drucker verwendet hatten, und er bestand darauf, dass wir auch die Teile für dieses neue Video mit diesem Drucker anfertigen sollten.“

Thorne und sein Team gaben die Daten eines genehmigten Animatic (einer Entwurfsdatei mit Grobentwürfen der animierten Skizzen) einfach in den Dimension 3D-Drucker ein, der die Modelle in nur wenigen Stunden anfertigte. Das Team fügte den Modellen, bei denen es sich um menschenähnliche Figuren handelt, abschließend von Hand zusätzliche Details hinzu.

Mithilfe herkömmlicher Produktionsmethoden hätte ein manuelles Formen und Bearbeiten dieser Modelle anhand der Vorgaben des Regisseurs Tage gedauert. Mit dem Dimension 3D-Drucker jedoch konnten Thorne und sein Team den Prozess über Nacht abschließen.

„Das Schöne am Dimension 3D-Drucker war bei diesem Projekt, dass wir exakte Nachbildungen der Animatic-Zeichnungen anfertigen konnten, anstatt wie bei handgeformten Modellen Größenverhältnisse und Details erraten zu müssen“, so Thorne. „Ehrlich gesagt hätten wir vor dem Dimension 3D-Drucker derartige Arbeiten extern vergeben, jetzt verfügen wir jedoch über das richtige Werkzeug für die Arbeit und sparen somit Zeit und Geld.“

Neue Technologie für ein Unternehmen im Wandel

Während sie sich im Bereich 3D-Drucktechnologie umsahen, um ihre CAD-Software effizienter nutzen zu können, erkannten Mike Kelt, Managing Director von Artem, und Digital Designer Jason Szukalski, dass herkömmliche Maschinen zur Modellfertigung, die mit Stärke oder Gips arbeiten, nicht ausreichend waren.

„Wenn wir die Modelle einfach nur hätten formen wollen, wäre eine Einsteigertechnologie möglicherweise ausreichend gewesen. Unsere Arbeit erforderte jedoch eine Halt- und Formbarkeit, wie sie nur von einem Dimension 3D-Drucker erreicht wird“, so Szukalski.

Thorne ist überzeugt, dass die schnelle Fertigung qualitativ hochwertiger Modelle mit dem Dimension 3D-Drucker Artem einen Wettbewerbsvorteil vor anderen Special Effects- und Requisitenfertigungsstudios verschafft.

Pläne für die Zukunft

Der Chipotle-Werbespot „Back to the Start“ belegte in der Liste der Top-Ten-Werbespots 2011 von Ad Week den zweiten Platz. Da man sich nicht auf den Lorbeeren ausruhen möchte, wird der Dimension 3D-Drucker von Artem für eine Vielzahl von Projekten eingesetzt, darunter Point-of-Sale-Displays für Nokia, Requisiten und Modelle für eine geplante „Alien“-Fortsetzung und ein streng geheimes Werbeprojekt für 2012.

„Die Leute kommen stets mit verrückten Ideen bei uns an, und wir müssen nicht nur kreativ an die Wünsche unserer Kunden herangehen, sondern auch potenziellen Kunden beweisen, dass wir über die Werkzeuge verfügen, ihre Vorstellungen umzusetzen“, so Thorne. „Mittlerweile können wir uns den Dimension-3D-Drucker aus unserer Arbeit nicht mehr wegdenken.“

Stratasys Ltd. © 2015. All rights reserved. See stratasys.com/legal for trademark information.

Start New Search

Chipotle

Laser Lines Helps Artem Make Directors’ Dreams Come True with Dimension 3D Printer-Created Special Effects

“Bringing a creative vision to life through a scale model is something Artem does best, and we knew Dimension 3D Printing would help enhance their creativity, at a fraction of the cost for outsourcing the work.”
— Michael Turner, sales director, Laser Lines Ltd.

LIGHTS, CAMERA, PRINT!

Artem Ltd. is among the most highly regarded model and miniature experts in the business, producing commercial advertising models on behalf of legendary consumer brands like Ford, Kellogg’s and Coca-Cola. In its two decades of experience, Artem’s work has been featured in dozens of major motion pictures, including “X-Men: First Class,” “Troy” and “Tomb Raider II: Cradle of Life.”

When London-based Nexus Productions contracted with CAA Marketing Group and its client Chipotle Mexican Grill to produce an animation highlighting the restaurant’s sustainable-farming advocacy, the production company naturally turned to Artem. The short video, “Back to the Start,” featured a stop-motion animation process that relied on individually crafted models to tell the story of a farmer committed to quality ingredients.

With an approved animatic (a design file with rough-draft animated sequences), all Bob Thorne, special effects supervisor for Artem Ltd., and his team had to do was feed that data to the Dimension 3D Printer, which produced the models in just a few hours. The team then hand-finished the models, most of which were human-inspired characters that required additional detail.

Using traditional production methods, these models might have taken days to sculpt by hand and finish to the director’s specifcations. But with the Dimension 3D Printer, Thorne and his team completed the process overnight.

“The beauty of using the Dimension 3D Printer for this project was that we could produce exact replicas of the animatic drawings, rather than guessing about sizes and details as we might have done with hand-sculpted models,” Thorne said. “To be honest, before we got the Dimension 3D Printer, we would have subcontracted out this type of work, but now that we have the right tool for the job, we are saving both time and money.”

The Right Tool for the Job

While researching 3D printing technology as a way to use computer-aided design (CAD) software more effectively, Artem’s Mike Kelt, managing director, and Jason Szukalski, digital designer, realized the ubiquitous modeling machines that used starch or plaster wouldn’t do.

“Had we simply wanted to mold the models, an entry-level technology might have been sufficient. But our work required durability and malleability that couldn’t be matched by any other machine than a Dimension 3D Printer,” Szukalski said.

Thorne took the next step by connecting with Michael Turner, sales director for Laser Lines Ltd., an exclusive Dimension distributor in Oxford, England. Turner and his team talked with Thorne about his needs and how Dimension 3D Printing could enhance the creative process at Artem.

“Prior to our meeting, Bob sent us fles that are typical of the sorts of projects Artem does, and we made them some sample parts using the Dimension 3D Printer,” Turner said. “We also gave them some reports on how much it would cost to acquire and use the printer, and how much time it would take to create functional parts using the FDM process.”

After purchasing the printer, Artem continues to enjoy a productive business relationship with Laser Lines, with the distributor offering helpdesk services and technical assistance for the Dimension 3D Printer, as well as a source for consumable materials. Artem also relies on Laser Lines to produce quick-turn or large functional parts when the company’s printer is at capacity.

“Our customers often consider us a partner rather than simply a supplier, and Artem is no exception,” said Turner. “To our company, it’s never just a sales opportunity – it’s the beginning of an ongoing relationship, and we will give our customers whatever they need to support their purchase.”

Thorne believes the Dimension 3D Printer gives Artem a competitive edge over other special-effects and prop-fabrication studios because it produces high-quality models quickly.

Future Plans

Ad Week awarded “Back to the Start” the No. 2 spot on its top-10 commercials of 2011 list. Not to rest on its laurels, Artem’s Dimension 3D Printer is at work on a wide variety of projects, including point-of-sale displays for Nokia, props and models for an upcoming “Alien” sequel, and a top-secret promotional project set to debut in 2012.

“People come to us with crazy ideas all the time and not only do we have to think creatively about how to solve our clients’ challenges, but we also have to prove to our prospective clients that we have the tools to help them realize their visions,” Thorne said. “Today, the Dimension 3D Printer is such an integral piece of what we do that we couldn’t imagine working without it.”

Stratasys Ltd. © 2015. All rights reserved. See stratasys.com/legal for trademark information.